The Lahore Development Authority governing body on Friday approved amendments to building regulations for ensuring safety of multi-storey residential and commercial buildings through proper scrutiny of site plans and effective supervision.

The governing body, which met here with district nazim Mian Amer Mahmood in the chair, decided to impose a fine of Rs200,000 on plaza builders for failure to provide parking space to every car in accordance with the regulations and approved recruitment of two BS-18 and eight BS-17 structure engineers for scrutiny and approval of site plans and construction supervision.

The nazim ordered preparation of a plan for the sanction of site plans of residential buildings within one week and commercial buildings within two weeks by removing unnecessary hindrances and providing incentives to staff.

He also ordered establishment of separate wings in town planning department for scrutiny and approval of site plans and inspection of buildings during construction.

He said the City District Government Lahore would ensure construction in accordance with the building bylaws. The police would provide full cooperation to the staff for enforcement of bylaws.

He also ordered identification of a suitable site for the construction of a girls college in Johar Town.

The governing body also decided to transfer four plots earmarked for construction of health centres in Quaid-i-Azam Town and one for establishment of a dispensary in Tajpura Housing Scheme to the health department. Funds were also sanctioned for installation of streetlights on the Khayaban-i-Jinnah stretch between Maulana Shaukat Ali Road and Shaukat Khanum Cancer Hospital in Johar Town. It also decided to pay 15 per cent interim relief to work-charge employees of LDA and a danger allowance of RS250 per month to Wasa sewer men.

The meeting was attended by LDA director-general Raja Muhammad Abbas, DCO Mian Muhammad Ijaz, Data Ganj Bakhsh Town nazim Tariq Sana Bajwa, Aziz Bhatti Town nazim Mian Muhammad Ashraf, Shalimar Town nazim Begum Shafqatun Nisa, Wagha Town nazim Khalid Javed Ghurki, Wasa and Tepa managing directors and representatives of provincial local government, finance, housing and urban development departments.

Source: The Dawn